| Home / Blog
New California laws affecting auto repair in 2021

New California laws affecting auto repair in 2021

Category:
Posted by-LawyersPages™, a Computerlog® LLC Company
Member Since-29 Dec 2015
  • Minimum Wage Boost. A reminder that effective January 1, 2021, the minimum wage for employers with 26 or more workers will grow to $14.00 per hour. The minimum wage for companies with 25 or fewer workers will grow to $13.00. Be aware that local minimum wage ordinances might be greater.
  • BAR Automobile Shop Locator Program. In August this year, BAR launched a brand new automobile store locator program where customers can quickly find auto repair providers in their place with a mobile-friendly search tool and see any disciplinary actions against the store. The locator displays stores on an interactive map with the customer's place or a particular town or zip code. Service classes are tied to secondary and primary company type data (e.g. automobile body, tire, transmission repair, etc.) supplied from the automotive repair dealers upon licensure or renewal. 
  • Smog Check Repair/Consumer Assistance Program (CAP).  Emergency BAR regulations (vehicles that fail smog) improved the automobile retirement alternative to $1,500 for owners that meet income eligibility and all others get $1,000. The regulations also raised the fixed assistance donations to $900 or $1200 depending upon the vehicle's model year. In May of the past year, BAR On-Board Diagnostic Inspection System (BAR-OIS) analyzers obtained a Vehicle Information Database (VID) upgrade supplying entry to vehicle-specific recall info out of the Vehicle Recall Search Service. Remember the information provided includes the date, effort amount, and a description of this remember to help the repair. The recall results are exhibited in the Smog Check Agency and will also be printed on the Vehicle Inspection Report a replica of which should be offered to the consumer. 
  • Business Hiring Tax Credits This legislation will offer little companies (fewer than 100 workers ) a $1,000 tax credit if they hire or rehire an employee to the 2020 taxable year. The legislation sets aside $100 million and will be supplied to companies that qualify under a first-come, first-served basis. (SB 1447)
  • Worker Notification-COVID-19. This legislation requires private and public companies to, among other matters, notify all employees and subcontractor employees, in a single day, regarding possible vulnerability to COVID-19. It establishes criteria that companies must follow in managing potential COVID-19 ailments and outbreaks and supplies that the Cal-OSHA with supervision to safeguard employees and apply the law. Violators will be subject to penalties.
  • OSHA COVID-19 Emergency Standards Powerful November 30, 2020, the brand new Cal/OSHA criteria, among other things, require companies to prepare, execute and maintain a written COVID-19 Prevention Program. Even if companies have employed a COVID-19 response program, lots of the new requirements probably change or enlarge the policies and processes that companies have implemented before. (8 CCR 3205-3205.4)
  • Employees Compensation -- Coronavirus. This legislation creates a"disputable" presumption, meaning it is assumed that the regeneration of coronavirus is a workplace accident but might be controverted by other evidence. The legislation is retroactive and applies from the time that the Governor's comparable Executive Order died (July 6, 2020). The legislation took effect immediately upon signing by Governor. 
  • Expansion of California Rights Act. This law requires companies, together with five or more workers, to give an employee up to 12 weeks of unpaid leave for family care and requires the employer to reinstate the employee returning from leave to the same or comparable location. This legislation revises various areas of past year's AB 5. Among other matters, the legislation clarifies the company to company exception and provides a record of new exemptions. Additionally, it explains that a single proprietorship could be qualified for the business to a business exemption. The legislation took effect immediately upon signing by Governor. (AB 2257)
  • Corporate Board of Managers. This legislation requires publicly held companies whose chief executive office is currently in the state of California to comprise a minimum of one manager from underrepresented communities onto its board from the end of 2021. This legislation expands protections given to an employee who's a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking to a worker who's victim, as stated, as well as a worker whose immediate relative is dead as a direct result of a crime. This law makes clarifying changes to the Lead Acid Battery Recycling Act and revises the Lead Acid Battery Recycling Facility Investigation and Cleanup Program to enlarge requirements for the Department of Toxic Substances Control (DTSC) to get and respond to data from the General Public and provides extra time for DTSC to compete renew investigations. Additionally, it authorizes cash to be accessible and expended. Present law prohibits those who consider they have been discharged or discriminated against in breach of any law imposed by the Labor Commissioner to submit a complaint with the Department of Labor Standards Enforcement (DSLE) six months after the occurrence of the breach. This new law expands the time to submit a complaint to over a year following the occurrence of the breach. 

  • The California Consumer Privacy Act (CCPA) of 2018 supplied consumers with particular privacy rights related to private information collected by companies. These new laws describe and expand certain exemptions offered in the first CCPA for private information gathered and shared labor. On August 14, 2020, the Attorney General declared that the Office of Administrative Law approved executing CCPA regulations. In the end, lately passed Proposition 24 expands the state consumer protection information privacy legislation and produces a brand new Privacy Protection Agency to apply these laws. This law provides that if an employee takes sick leave to attend to the illness of a relative, the designation of sick leave is in the sole discretion of the worker. (AB 2017)
  • Little Employer Family Leave Mediation Pilot Program. This new legislation, among other things, requires that the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH) make a small company family depart mediation pilot program that would require a small company or worker to ask all parties to take part in mediation via the DFEH's dispute settlement division. (AB 1861)
  • Unemployment and Insurance and Work Sharing. This law creates a different, expedited procedure which companies can apply and take part in California's work-sharing program. (AB 1731)
  • Record of Info Reporting Wage and Hour Violations. This law requires that as of January 1, 2022, or the date that the Secretary of State certifies that California Business Connect is executed, each firm should include in its announcement of Info a statement indicating if any officer or manager, or even in the event of a limited liability company, a supervisor or associate, has an outstanding final decision issued by the Department of Labor Standards Enforcement or court of law to the breach of any wage arrangement or provision of this labor code. (AB 3075)
  • Discrimination and Harassment. The law clarifies if a no-rehire supply in a settlement agreement regarding harassment, sexual assault, or criminal behavior is allowed and demands particular employer documentation. (AB 2143)
  • Little Employer Family Leave and Supplemental Paid Sick Leave. This new legislation, among other things, generates a small company family departs mediation pilot program also generates the COVID-19 Supplemental Paid Sick Leave for hiring entities that have 500 or more workers in the U.S. The legislation took effect immediately upon signing by Governor. (AB 1867)

This summary was given for informational purposes only and isn't intended and shouldn't be construed to constitute legal counsel.

 

Share